Close menu

Want to support us? Click here how to find out how!

Die Young – Chosen Path

Die Young – Chosen Path

Die Young from Texas returns after a 4-year hiatus, during which principal band-member Daniel travelled the world for PETA and played in bands like Band Of Mercy. With a new line-up with some old and some new members, Die Young is back. They went into the studio in late 2013 for a split with Brazil’s Confronto and this new EP, ‘Chosen Path’ which is released in different formats (and slightly different track-listings) on Headfirst Records (USA), Ugly And Proud Records (Europe) and Vegan Records (South-America).

This EP starts off with ‘Enter’ which moves from an acoustic intro into a heavy metallic track. Die Young does not let up from that point on, it’s a constant barrage of heavy and fast metallic hardcore with Daniel’s typical rabid vocals. They clearly did not set out to re-invent their sound, as this EP fits right in with their older material. Their sound still mixes elements from Catharsis (especially Daniel’s vocals) to more metallic hardcore bands like All Out War and Terror. Lyrically Daniel’s lyrics are still socio-political but he also focuses a bit more here on challenging oneself and stepping out of the comfort zone and taking on the world, questioning not only everything else but also, and maybe especially, one’s own beliefs and convictions. Good stuff. My favorite track is ‘Return To The Earth’, but there’s not one bad track here.

Daniel has made it clear in interviews this is not a one-off reunion, so hopefully that means more music is to come. In the meantime I’ll keep listening to this EP and hope they’ll make it back to Europe again. This EP ranks right up there with their best material, and I’m looking forward to hearing more from them.

Back to reviews overview


  1. Maurice said on 2014-05-13

    I saw them once, great band. I would like to buy this record, let’s see when it appears in the distros. What is the difference in the tracklist?

  2. Nikolay U&P said on 2014-05-13

    US version tracklist:

    Euro version tracklist:
    01 – Enter
    02 – Chosen Path
    03 – Conditioned
    04 – Incremental Gains
    05 – Rite Of Passage
    06 – Return To The Earth
    07 – Scum
    08 – Anthem Of The Prodigal

    There are 5 songs in common between the two versions. There is one exclusive track on each version and two tracks from the split 7″ with Confronto on the Euro version.

    It’s already available in a few German distros (Demons Run Amok, xSentientx) and I’m currently contacting as many distros/record stores/labels as possible. Hopefully it will be widely available very soon!

  3. Maurice said on 2014-05-14

    thanks for the info.